The book that made me love reading

Throughout my childhood, I had read many Nancy drew & Hardy boys’ books but none of them had ever created an impact on me. In those days, reading wasn’t something I was passionate about. My school used to assign one book per child every year, so as to inculcate a reading habit in us. HA! As if that would have done the job.
Reading isn’t something that should be imposed upon you! It comes from within. The eagerness to read a new book. To get completely lost in the alternate universe that the book creates in your mind. It’s a different feeling altogether & no one can make you feel it. Now enough with the emotional blabber. Let me tell you about that one book which made me fall in love with reading.


Years back, while I was cleaning my cabinet, I came across this torn, kid’s adaptation of ‘Pride & Prejudice’.

I thought this cover was better than that of my torn book which doesn't have one. Picture courtesy: Google

I thought this cover was better than that of my torn book which doesn’t have one.
Picture courtesy: Google

I don’t know why & how, I just picked it up and was determined to read it. I guess it was just meant to be, you know? 😀 . Once I started reading it, I never put it down. I read and re-read it several times. I was 12 & had a hard time understanding the language even though it was toned down a bit as it was meant for children. But I never gave up. I was in awe of the era that it was set in. I read the book as if I was living it. Imagining it all around me. I was completely lost & I loved that feeling. The mannerisms of women, chivalry of men, social norms, the grand dance parties/balls.. Just about everything impressed me. The more I read it, the more I started understanding the characters & their personalities. I fell in love with each one of them (okay at least all the lovable ones). I learnt so many things from most of the characters. I tried to include them in this post but I’m such a bad writer that I couldn’t come up with a good way to write it. Yes, I suck!
Now, as for my most favorite character from the book, Mr. Darcy… Well, he holds a special place in my heart. If you think about it, Darcy isn’t your typical romantic hero. It takes time to warm up to this man. I love how Jane Austen has portrayed him like a normal guy and not some unrealistically perfect guy like many chick-lit novels do these days. He is egoistic, proud & has many other faults which makes him just like any other guy. I actually hated him when he gave that speech while proposing Elizabeth. Insulting her family while professing your love for her? What a silly thing to do! But then, aren’t all men silly? 😉 (No hard feelings guys) He was honest though. Gotta give that to him. Oh but my heart did skip a beat when he uttered those famous lines

In vain have I struggled. It will not
do. My feelings will not be repressed.
You must allow me to tell you how
ardently I admire and love you.

Even after all these years, he’s still my No. 1 fictional man ❤
So here it is. The story of my first real book & how I fell in love with reading. What is yours? 🙂

Leave a Reply

